Author Topic: changing starting ships  (Read 3806 times)

Offline Orelius

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2013, 08:26:05 PM »
I think it's about time for us to be able to pick our starting ships.  After so many hours put into the game, sometimes I just don't feel like playing because it takes forever to find a map with a decent, survivable starting location and the ship that I want to use.

Offline keith.lamothe

  • Arcen Games Staff
  • Administrator
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 18,443
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2013, 10:52:17 AM »
Yea, at this point in the game's lifetime I agree.  No need to further dead this horse :)

I'm not 100% sure how to handle the UI side of letting the player pick, though.  If I were feeling mischievious I could make it a spinner where it goes to the next item in the list each time you click, but I'm hoping to survive the year ;)
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games? Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!

Offline chemical_art

  • Core Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,360
  • It's the details, darling...
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #17 on: November 06, 2013, 12:36:15 PM »
Yea, at this point in the game's lifetime I agree.  No need to further dead this horse :)

I'm not 100% sure how to handle the UI side of letting the player pick, though.  If I were feeling mischievious I could make it a spinner where it goes to the next item in the list each time you click, but I'm hoping to survive the year ;)

If/when you implement it, I would advertise examining AI Wars for that reason alone for new players. Perhaps you could move the choosing of the ship to in game rather then the lobby? Very slight bit like how the ARS lets you choose some ships?
If you see.typibg like this Im posting from my phone. Thanks for.your patience and for understand it is almost impossible for me to edit while.using it

Offline Draco18s

  • Resident Velociraptor
  • Core Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,277
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #18 on: November 06, 2013, 01:02:24 PM »
If/when you implement it, I would advertise examining AI Wars for that reason alone for new players. Perhaps you could move the choosing of the ship to in game rather then the lobby? Very slight bit like how the ARS lets you choose some ships?

I like this.
Make it a unique-per-homeworld non-buildable-indstructible structure unit that has tabs like an ARS breaking units down into types (like the lobby settings: cloaking, parasites, youngling, etc. a given unit CAN appear in multiple tabs) then when a unit is selected, it's given to the player and the structure self-destructs.  With multiple (because multi-homeworld) it would be seeded like the command station: one per world (not ideal, in terms of usability, but its how everything else works) and already-selected units would be grayed out (like any other research tabthing).

Offline Tridus

  • Hero Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
  • I'm going to do what I do best: lecture her!
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #19 on: November 07, 2013, 10:29:44 AM »
I was thinking the same thing, yeah.

It'd be interesting to be able to capture data after that's implemented of which ships are being chosen, to see which ones are really popular.

Offline Qatu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #20 on: November 07, 2013, 04:32:09 PM »
 Cool, I'm happy this thread helped get this to happen. I posted about this before on previous accounts and it didn't work out, i'm happy to see now seems like the right time for this super fun change.

 I'm still having super fun times with this. It's extra awesome.

 Now all that's needed for a near perfect AIWar experience is a lobby option to remove counter attack posts. Especially now that they can have 4 in a blob with 2 force fields and an eye it makes me feel a bit dirty to use the cheat to remove the counter posts most games.

Offline keith.lamothe

  • Arcen Games Staff
  • Administrator
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 18,443
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #21 on: November 07, 2013, 04:40:06 PM »
Now all that's needed for a near perfect AIWar experience is a lobby option to remove counter attack posts. Especially now that they can have 4 in a blob with 2 force fields and an eye it makes me feel a bit dirty to use the cheat to remove the counter posts most games.
The cheat is what's provided for that desire, actually :)
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games? Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!

Offline Chthon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #22 on: November 07, 2013, 05:08:39 PM »
Now all that's needed for a near perfect AIWar experience is a lobby option to remove counter attack posts. Especially now that they can have 4 in a blob with 2 force fields and an eye it makes me feel a bit dirty to use the cheat to remove the counter posts most games.
The cheat is what's provided for that desire, actually :)
Please, I love rude gestures like that.  It makes the game interesting.

Offline iamlenb

  • Newbie Mark II
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #23 on: November 15, 2013, 12:31:11 AM »
Perhaps, in the spirit of giving something to the players AND giving something to the AI in return, if a player takes what starting ship one wants then the AI sticks with random unlocks.

Conversely, if the player picks a specific ship...
* Diff 1 or 2, the AI picks the ship most vulnerable to the player pick. 
* Diff 3 to 7, picks a random one.
* Diff 8, picks a non vulnerable ship.
* Diff 9 picks a hard counter.
* Diff 10 AI gets hard counter and a H/K that is invulnerable to everything but the player pick, ambushing any fleet that dares include that ship through the nearest AI controlled planet wormhole like Freddie Kreuger.

Heh.

Offline Atepa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #24 on: November 15, 2013, 07:44:41 AM »
Yea, at this point in the game's lifetime I agree.  No need to further dead this horse :)

I'm not 100% sure how to handle the UI side of letting the player pick, though.  If I were feeling mischievious I could make it a spinner where it goes to the next item in the list each time you click, but I'm hoping to survive the year ;)

If/when you implement it, I would advertise examining AI Wars for that reason alone for new players. Perhaps you could move the choosing of the ship to in game rather then the lobby? Very slight bit like how the ARS lets you choose some ships?

Or have it similar to how you pick your color, have it tied to the player section in the lobby. This would free up the entire map to pick a starting location from as opposed to having to random seed your way through trying to find a map with a decent layout, good starting areas, and the ship types you and friends want.

Offline Cyborg

  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,397
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #25 on: November 16, 2013, 10:38:57 AM »
Yea, at this point in the game's lifetime I agree.  No need to further dead this horse :)

I'm not 100% sure how to handle the UI side of letting the player pick, though.  If I were feeling mischievious I could make it a spinner where it goes to the next item in the list each time you click, but I'm hoping to survive the year ;)

I think that the galaxy map in the lobby should have selectable buttons next to each planet. Clicking on one opens a screen that shows the ship on one side, the statistics on the other. It should be scrollable, alphabetically. That would be cool and would fit well with a trailer. Even better if it has a window showing attacking animations.
Kahuna strategy guide:
http://www.arcengames.com/forums/index.php/topic,13369.0.html

Suggestions, bugs? Don't be lazy, give back:
http://www.arcengames.com/mantisbt/

Planetcracker. Believe it.

The stigma of hunger. http://wayw.re/Vi12BK

Offline ZaneWolfe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #26 on: June 25, 2014, 10:37:03 AM »
Try:
Code: [Select]
245 - Neinzul Combat Carrier
250 - Powerslaver
251 - Lightning Starship
252 - Translocator Starship


Helping to keep this up to date with the latest ships.

Offline Kahuna

  • Master Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,934
  • Kahuna Matata!
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #27 on: September 28, 2014, 06:56:28 AM »
I think you got a couple of ship numbers mixed.
16 is actually Sniper
21 is actually Anti Armor Ship
and 20 is actually Armor Ship
« Last Edit: September 28, 2014, 07:14:37 AM by Kahuna »
set /A diff=10
if %diff%==easy (
   set /A me=SadPanda
) else (
   set /A me=:)
)
echo Super Cat was here!
echo Check out my AI War strategy guide and find your inner Super Cat!

Offline Toranth

  • Hero Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 877
    • View Profile
Re: changing starting ships
« Reply #28 on: September 28, 2014, 07:36:52 AM »
I think you got a couple of ship numbers mixed.
16 is actually Sniper
21 is actually Anti Armor Ship
and 20 is actually Armor Ship
Indeed, I did.  I've corrected the original post, thank you.